The International Football Association Board (IFAB) has announced that the incidents of accidental handball that lead to a team-mate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring opportunity, will no longer be considered an offence.
Football’s law-making body confirmed this today in a statement.
The controversial section of the handball law was enforced during the Premier League game between Fulham and Tottenham on Thursday night.
Fulham had a goal by Josh Maja ruled out, when the ball cannoned into the hand of his team-mate Mario Lemina from a Davinson Sanchez clearance.
IFAB has now agreed on the change, which comes into effect from July 1.
However, competitions have the flexibility to introduce changes before that date.
An IFAB statement read: “As the interpretation of handball incidents has not always been consistent due to incorrect applications of the law, the members confirmed that not every touch of a player’s hand/arm with the ball is an offence.”
It added: “Accidental handball that leads to a team-mate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring opportunity will no longer be considered an offence.”
It will remain a handball offence if a player scores accidentally with their hand or arm, or uses their hand or arm directly before scoring.
Originally posted 2021-03-05 23:20:51.